PSC Student Art Collection Grows with the Addition of New Works

Pictured from left to right: Professor Art, Paul Rinaldi; PSC Students Anthony Vicidomini, Jeremy Wright, Michael Bridges, Peggy Brown, Kathleen Skelton, Wayne McNair; Board Chair Mark Fazzini; and PSC President Eric Radtke. Not pictured: Michelle Cox and Sarah Zakrewski. (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Chicago Heights, IL–(ENEWSPF)– From a sculpture made of books to a photo of a local fast food establishment at night, eight new pieces were added to the Prairie State College (PSC) Board of Trustees Student Art Collection.

The art was chosen from the spring 2010 portfolio seminar course.

“This is a win-win opportunity for both students and the college,” said Paul Rinaldi, professor, art. “The students get to build their portfolio and have their work in a permanent collection.”

Students whose work was chosen for the exhibit are Michael Bridges, of Homewood; Peggy Brown, of Matteson; Michelle Cox, of Lansing; Wayne McNair, of Joliet; Kathleen Skelton, of Homewood; Anthony Vicidomini, of Crete; Jeremy Wright, of Chicago Heights; and Sarah Zakrewski, of Richton Park.

Wright’s work is a personal portrait drawn using graphite. His picture depicts his life as a college student.

“When you’re in college, you’re supposed to put the pieces of your life together,” said Wright. “I think many students can identify with my theme.”

McNair found a passion for night photography during one of his courses. He has two pieces featured in the collection, both local fast food establishments.

“My photos are icons of the urban/suburban landscape,” said McNair. “I love to set up my tripod at night and see what I can capture through my lens.”

Established in September 2008 by the Board of Trustees, the collection features student artwork hung in prominent places throughout campus. The collection now includes 15 pieces of art.

“I am pleased that we can continue to showcase the talents of our students for other students, faculty, staff, and visitors to the college to enjoy,” said Mark Fazzini, board chair.