Duncan Appoints Six Members to National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity

Washington, D.C.–(ENEWSPF)–December 17, 2009.  U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the Department’s six appointments to the newly constituted National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI).

“This committee will play a vital role in ensuring the highest standards of accountability for accrediting agencies,” Duncan said. “These agencies have the formidable task of assuring that schools participating in federal student aid programs provide a quality education to their students. These six new members bring varied expertise, talent, and experience to the committee, and their input will be invaluable as the department continues to improve these programs.”

NACIQI advises the Secretary on accreditation issues and the eligibility and certification process for institutions of higher education. It is charged with recommending to the Secretary which accrediting or specific state approval agencies should be recognized as reliable authorities for judging the quality of postsecondary institutions and programs.

The Department’s six members, appointed for three-year terms, are:

  • Earl Lewis, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, Emory University, Atlanta, Ga.;

  • Susan Phillips, provost and vice president for academic affairs, University of Albany, State University of New York;

  • Jamienne Studley, president and CEO, Public Advocates Inc., San Francisco, Calif.;

  • Aron Shimles, student, Occidental College, Los Angeles, Calif.;

  • Frank Wu, professor, Howard University Law School, Washington, D.C.; and ,

  • Frederico Zargoza, vice chancellor of economic and workforce development, Alamo Colleges, San Antonio, Tex.

Established in 1972, NACIQI was changed by the Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA) of 2008 (P.L. 110-315) from a 15-member committee appointed solely by the Secretary of Education to an 18-member committee appointed equally by the Secretary, the Senate, and the House of Representatives. The House and Senate are expected to complete their appointments soon and the newly-formed committee will then meet shortly thereafter.