Two PSC Students Named to Coca-Cola All-Academic Team

Virginia Soto, Jorge Martinez, Dianne Hill
Chidinma Nwakanma, Park Forest (left) and Evan Rugen, Flossmoor. (PHOTOS SUPPLIED)

Chicago Heights, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Two Prairie State College (PSC) students were named 2011 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars through Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Chidinma Nwakanma, from Park Forest, was selected a gold scholar. Evan Rugen, from Flossmoor, was selected a silver scholar.  The students received their awards at the Phi Theta Kappa All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremony on April 13, at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel in Springfield, Illinois. The students were also recognized during the PSC Board of Trustees meeting held April 26, 2011.

Gold scholars receive a $1,500 stipend and gold medallion; silver scholars receive a $1,250 stipend and a special medallion. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze scholars, and providing nearly $187,500 in stipends annually. Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program.  

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

 “The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.”

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,270 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually.