Meet Rich East’s Finest: Khadijah Shaaf

Khadijah Shaaf
Khadijah Shaaf. (PHOTOS SUPPLIED)

Park Forest, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Continuing with our series featuring Park Forest’s best and brightest students, eNews Park Forest is pleased to introduce Khadijah Shaaf, a seven-year resident of Park Forest, an honors and A.P. student, and a student with plans to enter graduate school after college.

Below is a Q&A provided by the school:

  1. Are you a Park Forest Resident?  Yes, I have been a Park Forest resident for seven years.
  2. At Rich East all four years?  Yes.
  3. Favorite classes and why? Throughout my high school career, all of my math and science classes have been my favorites. To be more specific; algebra honors, geometry honors, college trig, AP calculus, chemistry honors and AP physics, I tend to like these classes so much and I love to work with my hands in the science labs. I love being challenged in the classroom.
  4. GPA/Class Rank?  4.325/4.00 (includes weighted).  Ranked 3rd  of 237.
  5. ACT: 24.
  6. Areas met or exceeded on PSAE? Met in Reading and exceeded in Math and English.
  7. Activities/Athletics/Clubs participated in?   Special awards?  Straight A’s first semester, Straight A’s three semesters in a row, Outstanding sophomore and junior awards; Academic Honor Certificate; Student Council, National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Mathletes; Rocket Marching Band, scholar musician, best freshman, band community service award, most helpful band member; Varsity Girls Basketball, Varsity Girls Cross Country
  8. Clubs, hobbies, community/church, Special volunteering in community: Working on the “safe Halloween” project in downtown Park Forest; area community food kitchen; and “Just Talk” Youth Ministry at my church, which is First Community Baptist Church in Chicago.
  9. College choice/major:Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan, to major in computer science engineering.
  10. Where do you want to be in five years? In ten years? In five years, I would like to be in graduate school pursuing a higher degree. In 10 years, I want to be starting a family and working in the field of my choice.