Illinois Senate Confirms Illinois Community College Board Re-Appointments

Springfield–(ENEWSPF)–October 29, 2009.  The Senate today confirmed the re-appointment of three members of the Illinois Community College Board by unanimous vote. Board Chair Guy Alongi, Suzanne Morris, and Rudy Papa had been nominated by Governor Pat Quinn for re-appointment to their seats, pending Senate confirmation.

“I am grateful to Governor Quinn for his nomination and to the members of the Illinois Senate for the opportunity to continue to serve the Illinois Community College Board and the community college system,” said Alongi. “We have a dedicated and active board, and it is truly an honor to be re-appointed as its chairman.” Alongi is from DuQuoin.

“I appreciate Governor Quinn’s re-appointment and the Senate’s confirmation to the Illinois Community College Board,” said Morris, who has been elected twice by the Board to serve as its vice-chair. “It has been both gratifying and challenging to be on the ICCB for the past six years and I look forward to another term on the ICCB.” Morris lives in Grayslake.

“It is a privilege to be recognized and re-appointed to the ICCB,” Papa, from Bethalto, said. “I want to thank the Governor and the Senate for the privilege to continue serving on the Board.”

All three members agreed that funding and student success are the most important issues facing the community college system. “Every student deserves the opportunity to learn and achieve to his or her highest potential,” said Alongi, “and we want to make sure every student has that opportunity.”

The term of each re-appointment is six years and expires on June 30, 2015.

The Illinois Community College System is the third largest community college system in the nation and comprises 48 community colleges in 39 districts covering all of Illinois. Illinois community colleges annually serve approximately a million students in college transfer courses, workforce development, continuing education, and adult education programs.

The Illinois Community College Board is the state coordinating board for community colleges. It comprises a chairperson and ten other members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, and a nonvoting student member appointed by the ICCB Student Advisory Committee.