GSU College of Health and Human Services Hosts Alpha Eta Honor Society Induction

Master of Health Science alumna Timaka Wallace of Chicago (left) with her daughter A’shanti.

Master of Health Science alumna Timaka Wallace of Chicago (left) with her daughter A’shanti. . (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

University Park, IL–(ENEWSPF)– The College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) at Governors State University (GSU) has been granted permission to establish a local chapter of the Alpha Eta Society, the National Scholastic Honor Society for allied health students.

The departments of Physical Therapy, Communication Disorders, Addiction Studies, and Health Administration hosted the inaugural induction ceremony for the Gamma Psi Upsilon chapter on Friday, November 13. A total of twenty-five students, alumni, and faculty were inducted into the new chapter.

Established in 1975, the Alpha Eta Society was created to promote and recognize significant scholarship, leadership, and contributions to the allied health professions. Students and alumni who meet the high academic standards required by the Alpha Eta Society are invited to participate in the organization.

In her letter of request for the chapter’s establishment, Dean Linda Samson noted that the College’s students “truly exemplify the motto of the Alpha Eta Society – ‘Together We Serve.’ They’ve devoted themselves to helping promote the health, well-being, and improved quality of life for some of the region’s most vulnerable populations. These highly engaged individuals, I am certain, will distinguish themselves through their scholarship and achievements as members of the Alpha Eta Society.”

Undergraduate Inductees:

  • Andrea Myles of Homewood (Health Administration)
  • Kristina Paltanavicius of Oak Lawn (Health Administration)
  • Vickie Pennington of Calumet City (Health Administration)
  • Edward Strugalla of Geneva (Communication Disorders)
  • Gail Szewczyk of Palos Hills (Health Administration)

Graduate Inductees:

  • Manuel Beltran of Elgin (Health Administration)
  • Neeketta Dotson of Park Forest (Health Administration)
  • Jacqueline Evans of Orland Park (Health Administration)
  • Edward Fitzgerald of Flossmoor (Addictions Studies)
  • Emily Harn of Sauk Village (Physical Therapy)
  • James Jung of Mount Prospect (Health Administration)
  • Cheryl Luif of Lynwood (Physical Therapy)
  • Robert Siminski of Burnham (Health Administration)
  • Megan Schneider of Champaign (Physical Therapy)
  • Teniece Thurston of Olympia Fields (Communication Disorders)
  • Colleen Wray of Manhattan (Addictions Studies)

Alumni Inductees:

  • Juliette Gainer of Chicago (Communication Disorders)
  • Carrie Goodnight of Orland Park (Communication Disorders)
  • Timaka Wallace of Chicago (Addictions Studies)

Faculty Inductees:

  • Linda F. Samson, Ph.D. – Dean, College of Health and Human Services, and Interim Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
  • Nancy Burley, M.A. – Coordinator, Dean’s Office, College of Health and Human Services
  • Gregory Blevins, Ph.D. – Chair, Department of Addictions Studies and Behavioral Health, and Interim Assistant Dean, College of Health and Human Services
  • Russell Carter, Ed.D. – PT, Chair, Department of Physical Therapy
  • Kyusuk Chung, Ph.D. – Chair, Department of Health Administration
  • William S. Yacullo, Ph.D. – Chair, Department of Communication Disorders