Former Rockford Mayor John McNamara Named to Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance

WASHINGTON, D.C.–(ENEWSPF)–August 20, 2009.  Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) announced today that John McNamara, former Rockford Mayor and Vice President for College Development at Rockford College, has been named to the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance. The committee is an independent and bipartisan source of advice and counsel on student financial aid policy for both Congress and the U.S. Secretary of Education.

“John’s long history of public service and current position as a college administrator makes his an important voice in efforts to make college affordable for all students,” Durbin said. “As the father of six children who attended college,  John understands the importance of higher education and  the financial burden many families take on to provide a world class education for their families. John is a fantastic addition to the Committee and I look forward to working with him to make college education more affordable.”

McNamara served as the Mayor of Rockford, Illinois from 1981 – 1989, when he joined William Charles Investments, Ltd. in Rockford. He has worked part time in various roles at Rockford College, becoming the College’s Vice President of College Development in 2006. Rockford College is a private liberal arts college located in Rockford, Illinois. 90% of the school’s 1,200 students received some form of financial aid.

The Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance works to ensure that higher education affordable for all students. As a member of the Committee, McNamara will help develop policy recommendations and independent analyses on all aspects of student assistance programs.

The Advisory Committee is composed of eleven members appointed by members of Congress and the Secretary of Education for a single term of four years. Committee members come from across the nation and include financial aid officers, students, college presidents and administrators, officers of guaranty agencies, and leaders of national educational associations.