35 Marian Class of 2014 members Meet Illinois State Scholar Criteria

Illinois Student Assistance Commission honors Marian seniors

Chicago Heights, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Marian Catholic High School is proud to announce that 33 members of the Class of 2015 have earned recognition as Illinois State Scholars. The Illinois Student Assistance Commission recognizes Illinois high school students for outstanding academic achievement based on standardized test scores and class rank. Another two students who met the Illinois State Scholar criteria live in Indiana.

“We are proud of the academic accomplishments of our students.  Marian students are encouraged to enroll in advanced level classes which result in the high number of students receiving this honor,” said Dr. Shirley Morris, Vice Principal of Academics. “It is evident by their stellar performance that these students are diligent and motivated with their studies and have taken full advantage of the learning opportunities extended to them.”

CLUE at The Drama Group

These 35 students are in the top 10 percent of the state’s 671 high schools. Illinois State Scholars, which number more than 13 percent of the Marian Catholic Class of 2015, include:

  • John Adducci (Homewood),
  • Kaley Barseth (Tinley Park),
  • Gregory Biggio (Orland Park),
  • Amanda Blocker (Glenwood),
  • Allyson Brooks (Homewood),
  • Nicholas Brown (Steger),
  • Phoenix Burnett (Olympia Fields),
  • Emily Callahan (Monee),
  • Angelica Cazares (Chicago Heights),
  • Amy Cowser (Steger),
  • Christina deBustros (Flossmoor),
  • Kalyn DesJardins (Chicago Heights),
  • Ibrahim Ghazaleh (Lansing),
  • Allison Gregorovic (Lansing),
  • Genevieve Helsel (Frankfort),
  • Troi Henderson (South Holland),
  • Diedre Johnson (Matteson),
  • Michael Lauer (Park Forest),
  • Vincent Magana (South Holland),
  • Payton Millhouse (Monee),
  • Janie Neal (Park Forest),
  • John Peabody (Flossmoor),
  • Frank Raymond IV (Monee),
  • Francesca Robinson (Richton Park),
  • Linda Salgado (Chicago Heights),
  • Ronald Stemley (Dolton),
  • Nicole Szewczyk (Lansing),
  • Alexander Tama (Chicago Heights),
  • Lisette Villareal (Steger),
  • Andrew Whitehead (Matteson),
  • Kellen Williams (Olympia Fields),
  • Robin Wilson (Frankfort),
  • Dana Zavesky (Flossmoor).

Additionally, two students from Indiana met the criteria for Illinois State Scholar, including Riley Harber (Whiting) and Lauren Storiz (St. John).

CLUE at The Drama Group
Summer and Fall at Prairie State College