Illinois Department Of Agriculture To Offer Free Recycling Program For Agrichemical Containers

SPRINGFIELD, Ill.–(ENEWSPF)–June 2, 2011.  The Illinois Department of Agriculture is encouraging farmers to save their empty agrichemical containers.  The department announced today it has arranged to recycle them.   

Beginning in August, sites throughout the state will collect the containers and grind them into small plastic chips that will be used to make shipping pallets, fence posts, drainage tubing, plastic lumber and other useful products.   

“This program offers farmers a convenient opportunity to dispose of empty pesticide containers and demonstrate their environmental stewardship,” Agriculture Director Tom Jennings said.  “I would encourage them to gather any containers that they may have been planning to throw in the garbage and take them to the nearest collection site.”  

Metal and household pesticide containers are not eligible for the recycling program.  Collection sites will accept only high-density polyethylene, #2 plastic, agrichemical containers that are clean and dry.  Participants are responsible for rinsing them and removing all caps, labels, booklets and foil seals.         

The program is a cooperative venture between the Illinois Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Container Recycling Council, GROWMARK, Inc., Illinois Fertilizer and Chemical Association, Container Services Network, Illinois Farm Bureau and University of Illinois Extension.
To obtain a free brochure about the program, call the Illinois Department of Agriculture toll free at 1-800-641-3934.

The collection sites and dates for the 2011 Pesticide Container Recycling Program are as follows:

Permanent collection sites:

County Location City  Contact Phone #
Greene Illinois Valley Supply Carrollton John Quandt 217-942-6991         
Lawrence Klein Flying Service Lawrenceville Robert Klein 618-943-2189
McLean Randolph Ag Service Heyworth Dee Hamilton 309-473-3256
Warren Maple City Area Recycling Monmouth Kevin Lovdahl 309-734-8423    

Single Day Collection Sites:

AM Site hours are 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
PM Site hours are 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Date, Time   Location                  Contact
8/1 PM     Two Rivers FS  Mike Smith
Pike    Pittsfield   217-285-4477

8/2 AM     Lincoln Land FS   Dick Stilts
Morgan   Jacksonville  217-243-6561

8/2 PM   Sunrise Ag  Mike Schone
Cass   Virginia  217-452-3936

8/3 AM          Two Rivers FS      Aaron Winner
Schuyler        Rushville  217-322-2024

8/3 PM          Chem-Gro  Todd Nelson
Hancock        Bowen  217-842-5514

8/4 AM          CPS        Travis Weaver
McDonough  Blandinsville  309-652-3694

8/4 PM       Gold Star FS  Dave Cooper
Mercer  Aledo  309-582-7271

8/8 PM          River Valley Coop Chad Wexell
Henry  Galva  309-737-0337

8/9 AM   Gold Star FS  Jim Anderson
Whiteside   Lyndon  815-778-3331

8/9 PM    Pearl City Elevator Mark Wells
Stephenson    Dakota  815-449-2254 

8/10 AM  Conserv FS   Jeff Baxter
Winnebago  Rockford  815-963-7669

8/10 PM  Conserv FS   Jeff Kimmel
McHenry  Marengo  815-568-7211

8/11 AM  Hintzsche Fert.  Dan Moore
DeKalb  Kirkland  815-522-3251

8/11 PM  Grainco FS  Steve Puetz
LaSalle  Lostant  815-368-3215

8/12 AM  Evergreen FS  Melvin Feazel
Woodford  Minonk  309-432-2592

8/15 PM  Agland FS  Mark Alvey
Peoria  Hanna City  309-565-4315

8/16 AM  Agland FS  Tim Dare
Tazewell  Green Valley  309-352-2700

8/16 PM   DCM Crop Care  George Clark
Tazewell  Deer Creek  309-447-6456

8/17 AM  CPS  Steve Schaffer
Livingston  Saunemin  815-832-4491

8/17 PM  Chebanse Ag   Dean Schafer
Kankakee  Chebanse  815-697-2392

8/18 AM  Weber Fertilizer  Delmar Ecker
Iroquois         Buckley       217-394-2042

8/18 PM  United Prairie         Matt Van Osdell
Champaign  Tolono  217-485-6000

8/19 AM  Effingham Equity  Rodney Schultz
Effingham  Montrose  217-342-3123
8/29 PM Irvington Elevator  Steve Seidel
Washington Irvington  618-249-6206

8/30 AM  Bockhorn Ag          Leslie Bockhorn
Randolph  Sparta   618-443-3905

8/30 PM   Gateway FS            Jerry Roosevelt
Monroe         Waterloo      618-282-4000

8/31 AM CPS  Jeff Haas
Clinton New Baden  618-588-3525

8/31 PM       M & M Service     Tony Kuebrich
Madison  Marine  618-887-4275

9/1 AM Woolsey Brothers  Herb Woolsey
Fayette Vandalia  618-283-1263

9/1 PM Effingham Equity  Rodney Schultz
Christian Pana  217-342-3123

9/2 AM M & M Service      Zane Rutherford
Macoupin Girard  217-627-2151

Source: illinois.gov