Local Police Reports

Park Forest Police Among ICJIA Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program Awardees

Village of Park Forest Recipient of $20,000 Grant

CHICAGO—(ENEWSPF)—April 5, 2011.  Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA) Executive Director Jack Cutrone today announced recipients of federal fiscal year 2007 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant awards for law enforcement vehicles.

ICJIA designated more than $810,000 to 42 local law enforcement agencies that demonstrated financial and vehicle needs. A maximum of $20,000 was awarded to each agency, and 75 percent of the funds were designated to departments within communities that had populations of less than 25,000.

“Aging vehicles with increasing maintenance needs are often out for service, significantly impacting public safety, especially in rural areas,” said Director Cutrone. “We are pleased to support local police departments that are hard-pressed to find money for new vehicles during these tight economic times.”

More than 300 agencies from across the state requested funding. Submissions were evaluated and scored based on a formula to determine regional financial need and each agency’s demonstration of equipment need. Agencies awarded will be required to provide a 25 percent cash match from non-federal sources.

Vehicle grant award recipients include:

Broadview Police Department


Brooklyn Police Department


Buffalo Police Department


Carol County Sheriff’s Department


Christian County Sheriff’s Department


Clinton Police Department


Coles County Sheriff’s Department


DeKalb Police Department


East Alton Police Department


East Moline Police Department


Forreston Police Department


Glenwood Police Department


Hardin County Sheriff’s Department


Harrisburg Police Department


Harwood Heights Police Department


Henry Police Department


Macomb Police Department


Manteno Police Department


Marion County Sheriff’s Department


Millstadt Police Department


Minonk Police Department


Mounds Police Department


Oregon Police Department

$17, 315

Panna Police Department


Village of Park Forest


Paxton Police Department


City of Pekin


Piatt County Sheriff’s Office


Pontiac Police Department


Pulaski County Sheriff’s Department


Randolph County Sheriff’s Department


Robinson Police Department


City of Rock Island


Shelbyville Police Department


Staunton Police Department


Stone Park Police Department


Summit Police Department


Taylorville Police Department


Villa Park Police Department


Washington Park Police Department


Wayne County Sheriff’s Department


Williamson County Sheriff’s Department


ICJIA is dedicated to improving the administration of criminal justice with work in the areas of grants administration, research and analysis, policy and planning, and information systems and technology. ICJIA is coordinating a collaborative, statewide strategic planning process to formulate criminal justice policy, research, and funding direction for the next several years. Visit www.icjia.state.il.us for more information.

Source: Illinois.gov