Governor Quinn Declares a Disaster in Four Additional Counties

​Clark, Crawford, Lawrence and Warren Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

CHICAGO–(ENEWSPF)–April 26, 2013.  Governor Pat Quinn yesterday added Clark, Crawford, Lawrence and Warren counties to the state disaster declaration, bringing the number of counties with expanded access to state emergency resources to 48. The declarations also allow the state to formally pursue federal relief and support for impacted counties.
“While water is receding in some areas, other communities must still work to protect homes, businesses and critical infrastructure,” Governor Quinn said. “We are continuing to do everything we can to provide the personnel and resources needed to fight the flooding. We are also working to collect damage information needed to secure federal assistance that will help people rebuild their homes and their lives.”
Since last week, Governor Quinn has surveyed damage on the ground and from the air and met with local officials in some of the hardest hit communities, including Elmhurst, Des Plaines, River Forest, Bellwood, Riverside, Moline, Quincy, Bartonville, North Aurora, Marseilles, Ottawa, North Utica, Morris, Meredosia and Peoria.
Earlier this week the governor announced that Illinois businesses and individuals who file monthly, quarterly or annual returns and have been impacted by the flooding will have until Oct. 31 to file tax returns that were due on or after April 19. The extended deadline provides much-needed relief for individuals and local businesses trying to file their returns or payments on time while recovering from the flood.
Governor Quinn has also announced that personnel from FEMA, IEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration and local emergency management agencies will begin assessing damage to homes and businesses in Cook, DuPage and Lake Counties on April 29. The teams will move to other affected counties as floodwaters recede so they are able to accurately assess the damage.
With the four counties added today, the list of declared counties now includes Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Cook, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford counties.
The state disaster declaration makes available a wide variety of state resources that can help affected communities respond and recover from flooding. State assistance to date includes:
Department of Transportation
  • More than 240 IDOT personnel and 153 trucks and equipment have been deployed to deliver sandbags, plastic, pumps, and hoses to communities for flood fighting efforts and debris removal.
  • Conducting flyovers of flooded areas for situational awareness.
  • Providing guidance to communities on pumping equipment needs.
  • Assisting local officials on road elevation on Illinois 100 near Hardin.
Department of Corrections
  • More than 1,750 inmates have assisted with sandbagging efforts in several communities.
  • More than 917 inmates inside correctional facilities have worked around the clock to fill more than 227,000 sandbags since Friday, April 19.
Department of Natural Resources
  • DNR boats and conservation police officers have assisted with home and medical evacuations, transportation, river rescues, missing person searches and other flood-related responses.
Illinois Emergency Management Agency
  • Provided 40 StarCom radios to the Algonquin Police Department for emergency communications.
  • Deployed liaison teams to coordinate response efforts along the Mississippi River.
  • Coordinating requests for assistance from affected counties with state resources.
  • Contacting more than 700 radioactive materials licensees to ensure safety of those materials during flooding.
Illinois National Guard
  • UH-60 Blackhawk helicopter and two crew members assisted the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers with overflight of the Des Plaines and Little Calumet Rivers to survey integrity of flood control systems and infrastructure. 
Illinois State Police
  • Continue to assist motorists and local public safety agencies with flood-related issues.
Department of Public Health
  • Provided information on tetanus shots to local public health departments, hospitals and medical offices.
  • Monitoring situations at nursing homes and long-term care facilities affected by flooding.
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
  • Following up on more than 550 reports of flood impacts to sewer systems and waste water treatment systems and more than 20 reports of impacts to drinking water supplies.
  • Advising communities on appropriate procedures for flood debris and sandbag disposal.
Department of Central Management Services
  • Procured work gloves and ponchos for inmate crews assisting with sandbagging.
  • Supplied IDNR with trailer from surplus for temporary office at Starved Rock.
Governor Quinn activated the State Incident Response Center on Thursday, April 18 to coordinate the deployment of state personnel and assets to assist local governments in the affected areas. The state’s flood response is coordinated by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.

Source: illinois.gov