School District 162 Honors 92 Young Scholars

92 students from School District 162 were inducted into the Academic Hall of Fame at a luncheon June 4 at the Matteson Holiday Inn. (Photo: ENEWSPF) Park Forest, IL—(ENEWSPF)— School District 162 inducted 92 graduating students into its first-ever Academic Hall of Fame on June 4 at a luncheon at the Matteson Holiday Inn. Each student earned a 3.0 or better during their academic careers in district schools. School board members presented each recipient with distinguished silver cords to wear over their graduation robes.

Assistant Superintendent Muriel Cozzi commended the students, “Not only did you achieve your goal of graduation, but you did it with wonderful grades. Some subjects might have been very easy for you, others might have been very challenging. Yet you applied your skills and effort to do well.”

Board President Alicia McCray began her remarks giving credit to Dr. Blondean Davis, district Superintendent of Schools, “Dr. Davis has an idea every day. You parents ought to know that. Every day, Dr. Davis has an idea about your children. And we talked about how wonderful the graduation was, but there was something missing. Dr. Davis said she wanted to do something special for the children so that they could be recognized in a more intimate setting, especially for their academic accomplishments. And today is a realization of that dream and that idea.”

McCray then focused on the students, “You’ve learned some critical lessons. You’ve learned what can be done, and, sometimes, very importantly, what can’t be undone. You’ve learned the truth in an old Arab saying that there are only 4 things in life you cannot take back: the spoken word, the launched arrow, the past, and the neglected opportunity.

“Seated before us today are some of the brightest minds in our collective futures. Here sit the future leaders of America and the world. And in these proud young faces, we can see the fate of the world."

Dr. Blondean Davis affirmed the efforts of the students, "Today is a celebration, an acknowledgement of your hard work, your efforts and your persistence. Today is an example of what can be accomplished when intelligent students, with involved supportive parents forge a partnership with dedicated and talented teachers.

"But today is not only about the celebration of your academic accomplishments. Today we celebrate the beginning of a transition that will bring new opportunities, new possibilities, new experiences."

Below is a list of the Hall of Fame inductees as printed in the event's program:

First Trustee Forum

First Mayoral Forum

Please follow & like us :)