Preckwinkle Dominates in Evanston, New Trier and Oak Park Townships

Cook County, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Unofficial township and precinct level election results for suburban Cook County are now available at cookcountyclerk.com.

The detailed results bring new insight into how suburbanites voted in the Feb. 2, 2010 Primary Election. For example:

  • Six of 30 suburban Cook townships – Barrington, Elk Grove, Hanover, Lemont, Leyden, Schaumburg – cast more ballots for Republican candidates for governor than Democratic candidates for governor. During the 2008 presidential primary, only Barrington township cast more Republican than Democratic ballots.
  • Suburban voters were almost evenly split between Democratic candidates for governor, with 15 townships going to each Pat Quinn and Dan Hynes.
  • Democratic senatorial candidate David Hoffman won 16 of 30 suburban townships.
  • Toni Preckwinkle, Democratic nominee for Cook County Board president, had the greatest margin of victory in Evanston, New Trier and Oak Park townships.

According to the Cook County Clerk’s office, results may change due to provisional and late-arriving absentee ballots. Absentee ballots postmarked by midnight on Feb. 1 will be added to the results if they arrive within two weeks of the election. About 800 provisional ballots will be individually checked and, if validated, added to the tally.

By law, every Illinois election jurisdiction must certify its results to the State Board of Elections by Feb. 23. For information about Chicago results, please visit chicagoelections.com.