Arnold Schwarzenegger to Join Secretary Chu at ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit

Washington, DC –(ENEWSPF)–February 10, 2011.  Two weeks after President Obama focused on innovation in his State of the Union address, the U.S. Department of Energy announced today that former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger will keynote the second annual ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit. Designed to bring together key players from across the energy innovation ecosystem, the Summit program will serve as a forum for the nation’s energy leaders to share ideas and identify key technology opportunities and challenges in the energy field.

“As the President said, it’s about winning the future. And to win the future in energy, we must innovate,” said Secretary Chu. “The unique combination of leaders at the Summit makes it the perfect forum for developing energy solutions that will enable us to out-innovate our global competitors, build American industries, and create jobs.”

In addition to Secretary Chu, keynote speakers include U.S. Navy Secretary Ray Mabus; former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger; Bank of America Chairman and former DuPont CEO Charles Holliday, and ARPA-E Director Arun Majumdar. Key Congressional leaders including U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN), U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), U.S. Senator Mark Udall (D-CO), and Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY, 2nd District) will also join.

The event will include a Technology Showcase of more than 200 groundbreaking technologies that are poised to help America win the future in energy, including 100 ARPA-E awardees. A growing list of leading corporations, such as Applied Materials, Battelle, Bosch, Dow, DuPont, Lockheed and United Technologies – have joined as Corporate Acceleration partners to meet with participants in the Technology Showcase.

The 2011 Summit will take place February 28 – March 2, 2011 at the Gaylord Convention Center just outside Washington, D.C. The event is co-hosted by the Department’s Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) and the Clean Technology and Sustainable Industries Organization (CTSI), with key support from the National Venture Capital Association (NVCA), the American Energy Innovation Council, and the Kauffman Foundation.

Learn more about the 2011 ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit.

Source: energy.gov