Joint Honor Society Induction at Prairie State College Celebrates Many Student Successes

honor society induction

CHICAGO HEIGHTS–(ENEWSPF)–December 18, 2015.  Prairie State College (PSC) recently held a Joint Honor Society Induction Ceremony on campus. During the event, PSC students were inducted into one of the honor societies with chapters on campus, including Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, PSI Beta, Alpha Beta Gamma and the National Technical Honor Society.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is intended to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of students at two-year colleges. The Nu Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered at PSC in 1965. At PSC, the chapter focuses on scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. The following PSC students were inducted into the Nu Sigma Chapter:


  • Mary Rose Gianotti

Chicago Heights

  • Rachael Brooks
  • Juan Cezares
  • Tremia Davis
  • Jennifer Dicosola
  • Freddy Duenas-Nieves
  • Aisha Esquivel
  • Justin Kooinga
  • Alejandra Martinez
  • Yesenia Munoz
  • Alia Thomas

Calumet City

  • Karen Jimenez


  • Jessica McIntyre
  • Jennifer Torres

 Country Club Hills

  • Toajane Wrather
  • Danielle Terry


  • Irene Adeleke
  • Peter Brassea
  • Candid Gardner
  • Brie Wheeler


  • Taofeek Abayomi
  • Adrian Alexander
  • April Cruz
  • Chris Deckinga
  • Emma Malin


  • Robert Burnley


  • Fernando Garcia De La Torre
  • Tempestt Long
  • Narvintchka Noisette
  • Felicia Owens
  • Carole Rose
  • Chanel Smith


  • Kindsey Carbol
  • Marissa Carlson
  • Marianna Galligani
  • Latoya Spencer

Olympia Fields

  • Santiaga Sanchez
  • Palos Hills
  • Nivien Masoud

Park Forest

  • Jennifer Conroyd
  • Bryce Denny
  • Aiyana Godsil
  • Julie Ojeda
  • Samuel Zandi

Richton Park

  • Samara Bradley
  • Jennifer Hollimon

South Holland

  • Kristin Poortenga


  • Anthony Rodriguez
  • Paige Welsh

University Park

  • Kashmiere Leschinsky

Psi Beta is the national honor society in psychology for community colleges. The mission of the fraternity is professional development of psychology students through promotion and recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership, research, and community service.

PSC students inducted into Psi Beta include Mary Rose Gianotti of Beecher, Melinda Arce-Gudino of Homewood, Steven Lara of Chicago Heights, Toajane Wrather of Country Club Hills, Jesus Casillas de La Mora and Tiarney Johnson of Crete, Shedrack Green and Vashti Hale of Matteson, Skyler Hall and Latoya Spencer of Monee, Rhiana Jones of Park Forest, Vivian Azubuike and Maria Forbes of Richton Park and Daniel Flood of Steger.

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international business honor society, established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among college students in business curricula at community, junior and technical colleges. The Theta Chapter at PSC is intended to recognize academic excellence, provide ancillary educational experiences, serve the college and community and enrich the social and cultural life of members.

PSC students inducted into the Theta Chapter of Alpha Beta Gamma were Ronnie Price of Chicago Heights, Tara Moore of Harvey, Maria (Hillary) Hardt and Jonathan Malin of Homewood, Diana Brown of Richton Park and James Lawson III of Tinley Park.

The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) is intended to honor student achievement and leadership in career and technical education, promote educational excellence, award scholarships, and enhance career opportunities for the members of NTHS.

PSC students inducted into the NTHS include Richard Green and Carole Rose of Matteson, Karen Reynolds of Lynwood, and Anthony Rodriguez of Steger.