AP Scholars Number 117 At Marian Catholic

Chicago Heights, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Ranking among the best in the Chicagoland area, Marian Catholic High School recently had 117 students named AP Scholars by the College Board in recognition of exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Exams. 

Only 18 percent of nearly 1.7 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit AP Scholar recognition. 

Most of the Marian AP Scholars are members of the Class of 2010, which earned more than $16 million in college scholarships. Kathryn Bryzgalski (Homewood) and Samuel Kirshenheiter (Flossmoor) qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale and grades of 4 or higher on eight of the exams.

Marian students numbering 29 qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction (average of 3.5 on all exams and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams).

This group includes Class of 2010 members Sam Beck (Hammond, Ind.), Lisa Belzeski (Schererville, Ind.), Haley Boblink (Highland, Ind.), Kathryn Bryzgalski (Homewood), Katelyn Campbell (Homewood), Mia Cleary (Flossmoor), Ronald Dymerski (Beecher), John Hanauer (St. John, Ind.), Stephen Hudson (South Holland), Kimberly Karlin (Dyer, Ind.), Samuel Kirshenheiter (Flossmoor), Neil Lancaster (Olympia Fields), Keegan Marz (Crete), Anna Mitros (Flossmoor), Jaime Patriarca (Park Forest), Sarah Smith (Crete), Thomas Sullivan (Evergreen Park), Jennifer Szotek (Tinley Park), David Vaughn (Lowell, Ind.) and Sean Woods (Olympia Fields). Patrick Barry (Chicago Heights), Conor Keane (Oak Forest), Martin Kudra (Chicago Heights), Megan Murday (Frankfort), Sean O’Sullivan (Munster), Colin Parsons (Park Forest), Michael Spear (Mokena), Madeline Tolish (Flossmoor) and Joseph Wlos (Crete) qualified from the Class of 2011.

Twenty-eight more Marian students earned the AP Scholar with Honor Award with an average grade of 3.25 on all exams and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams:

Abriana Anderson (Lynwood), Margaret Andres (Homewood), Nate Bodnar (Highland, Ind., 2011), Mileva Brunson (Hammond, Ind.), Joseph Buoscio (Lynwood), John Coleman (Homewood), Patrick Daley (Oak Forest, 2011), Colleen Daw (Homewood), Kieran Dziallo (Orland Park, 2011), Jillian Fata (St. John, Ind.), Ian Gurley (Hammond, Ind.), Jay Hochstetler (Crete, 2011), Yesenia Juarez (Tinley Park, 2011), Angelina Kelly (Monee), James Lamb (Chicago Heights), Jamie Laski (Crete), Adam McDevitt (Schererville, Ind.), Megan McGovern (Homewood), Justine Meyer (Chicago), Edward Moss (Olympia Fields), Uzoma Nwabara (Olympia Fields, 2011), Meghan Anne O’Shea (Munster), Brittany Spanos (Sauk Village), Carl Sterzel (Frankfort, 2011), Chandler Todd (Crete, 2011), Kaitlyn VanTuyl (Lansing, 2011), Brianna Wegrzyn (Chicago Heights) and Mariah Woodson (Dolton).

Finally, 60 Marian students earned the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more exams with grades of 3 or higher.

This group includes Jessica Anderson (Crete), William Blewitt (Crete), Lindsay Bohlen (Chicago Heights), Lauren Bojarski (St. John, Ind.), Joseph Brunner (Flossmoor), Megan Burke (Midlothian), Ashley Buttron (Steger), Jonathan Caffarelli (Lansing), Regina Ceragioli (Flossmoor), William Clarke (Chicago), Daniel Eckel (Mokena), Ashley Ellerson (Matteson), Nicole Fedinets (Glenwood), Joseph Fiaoni (Chicago Heights), Codi Furjanic (Oak Forest), Paige Green (Crete), Patrick Healy (Homewood), Joseph Hess (Lynwood), Kimberly Hilger (Oak Forest), James C. Jackson (Olympia Fields), Amber Johnson (Sauk, Village), Joseph Johnson (Frankfort), Evan Kordys (Tinley Park), Mark Kristl (Lansing), Elizabeth Lynch (Tinley Park), Robert Lyons (Chicago) and Rebecca Mezzich (Midlothian).

Also, Elise Nethercott (Tinley Park), Chizom Okebugwu (Olympia Fields), Megan Olszak (Crete), Chester Peterson (Dolton), Dominic Roche (Chicago Heights), Dennis Rogala (Lansing), Rodrigo Serna (Palos Heights), Tiffany Showalter (Crete), Jade Stansbury (Matteson), Amanda Tiberi (Chicago Heights), Meaghan Waldron (Tinley Park), Ayriel Warren (South Holland), Katherine Watson (Peotone), Jonathan Williamsen (Steger) and Elizabeth Zubrenic (Lowell, Ind.).

Additionally, Class of 2011 members Emily Arvia (Thornton), Robert Bailey (Olympia Fields), Devin Bready (St. John, Ind.), Anthony Galullo (Dyer, Ind.), Caitlin Helsel (Park Forest), Nicole Herrera (Dyer, Ind.), Brooke Herschberger (Crete), Mark Hoffman (Lansing), Alexander Jackson (Dolton), Paul Jenkins (Country Club Hills), Kiyoshi Kaholokula (Chicago Heights), Adam King (Lansing), Patricia O’Hara (Chicago Heights), Matthew Pena (Chicago Heights), Daryl Pugh (Matteson), Karie Schaberger (Oak Forest), Chigozi Yejekwe (Country Club Hills) and Christopher Zajeski (Crete).