New Village Board to be Sworn In May 14

Park Forest, IL–(ENEWSPF)– As reported last week, John Ostenburg has been elected to a third term as Village President in Park Forest.  While challenger Paul Jasinevicius won the Will County section of Park Forest by 58 votes, Ostenburg's 60.17% of the over-all vote put him well in front of  Jasinevicius' 39.83%. 

With all 100% of the precincts counted in Cook County and 100% of the precincts counted in Will County, Mae Brandon captured 22.44% of the over-all vote total, Gary Kopycinski took 22.40%, and Georgia O'Neill won third with 18.15%.  Incumbent Cynthia Reed fell behind O'Neill with 15.29% of the overall vote, with Katie Armstrong and Jon Vanderbilt earning 11.61% and 10.10% of the vote respectively.

The new village board will be sworn in May 14, according to Village Manager Tom Mick.  According to Mick, Will County has a mandated 21 day waiting period until canvassing can occur.  Canvassing is the official scrutiny of the votes count.  After canvassing, results will become official.  Cook County may also wait 21 days also, according to the manager. 21 days from Election Day would put canvassing on Tuesday, May 8.

 Unofficial vote totals from the Cook County and Will County Clerks' sites are as follows: 

Village President
  Cook  Will    
Jasinevicius 1018 184 1202 39.83%
Ostenburg 1690 126 1816 60.17%
Brandon 1746 148 1894 22.44%
O'Neill 1412 120 1532 18.15%
Kopycinski 1730 160 1890 22.40%
Vanderbilt 729 123 852 10.10%
Armstrong 852 128 980 11.61%
Reed 1116 175 1291 15.29%

Source:  http://www.voterinfonet.com, http://www.willclrk.com

Photo main page shows supporters and candidates celebrating election night.  From left to right, Mike Jordan, Cait Phipps, Matt Hennessy, Nicole Williams, Robin Kelly (Chief of Staff for the Illinois Treasurer), Trustee-elect Gary Kopycinski, Mayor John Ostenburg, Cameron Ruiz, Sam Nylen, Corinne Jones, and Kevin Headley.