More Contract Approvals on Horizon for SD 163


School District 163’s board will meet Monday evening. (Photo: Wendy Heise)

Park Forest, IL–(ENEWSPF)– The Board of Education for School District 163 will meet Monday, August 4 at 8:00 p.m. The meeting will be preceded by a Finance Committee meeting that starts at 7:00 p.m. The meeting will be held at the District Office, 242 South Orchard Drive.

The board will consider approving employment for the following individuals: Edilma Maravilla as a Second Grade Teacher at Beacon Hill Primary Center, pending State of Illinois Certification is received by August 21, 2008; Shawnaclarice Davis as a Prekindergarten Teacher at 21st Century Preparatory Center for the 2008-2009 school year; Andril Ruben as the Health assistant at Mohawk Intermediate Center for the 2008-2009 school year.

The board is expected to accept the resignation of Julie Hascher as a Kindergarten Teacher at 21st Century Preparatory Center, effective July 28, 2008, and consider approval of the 30-day retired teachers’ contract per the terms of the collective bargaining agreement and recommended by the Superintendent. Nancy Dannels Dale Johnson John Kommers Margaret Spinnozi.

Also on the agenda is the adoption of the PTAB Resolution for the 2008 assessment appeals authorizing the law firm of Scariano, Himes, and Petrarca to represent the District before the PTAB for 2007 appeals as discussed at the Finance Committee meeting on July 28, 2008 and the Committee-of-the-Whole on July 28th, 2008.

The board will consider approving contracts for the following employees for the 2008-2009 school year: Mahmoud Awad, assistant to the District Information Systems Manager; Marti Blaise, Science Depot Coordinator; Sandra Graves, Executive Secretary to the Superintendent; Richard W. Heard, assistant to the Principal in Charge of Discipline; Susan Hoffer, assistant to the District Information Systems Manager/Curriculum Specialist; Angela Knox, Confidential Secretary to the Superintendent; Kathleen McBride, District Nurse; Geri Simnick, Payroll/Benefits Clerk.

Also on the agenda is consideration to approve the following contracts for the 2008-2009 school year: Cynthia Barnett, Reading Intervention Teacher; Jean Bernstein, Gifted Teacher; Richard Evans, Gifted Music Teacher; Deborah Gladstone, Reading Intervention Teacher; Gordon Kridner, Math Coach; Esther McReynolds, Reading Intervention Teacher; Michael Nicolai, IT Manager/Consultant; Jacqueline Payne, Math Interventionist; Marilyn Roche, Music Teacher; Elizabeth Rowan, Math Coach/Interventionist; Fred Segner, Science Teacher; Gayla Stein, Reading Intervention Teacher; Jeanette Stephens, Reading Intervention Teacher; Shanti Thayil, Reading Intervention Teacher; Anne Thomas, Intervention Room Teacher; Diane Van Pelt, Gifted Teacher; Nello Vignocchi, assistant Principal; Eva Whitham, Reading Intervention Teacher; May Wiza, Math Coach/Interventionist.