Hultgren, Jackson, Lead Delegation Letter to Governor Quinn Urging Support for Non-profit Hospitals

Letter Signed By 18 Members Of Illinois Congressional Delegation

Washington, D.C.–(ENEWSPF)–March 8, 2012.  U.S. Reps. Randy Hultgren (IL-14) and Jesse Jackson, Jr. (IL-2) yesday released the following statement after sending a letter to Illinois Governor Pat Quinn regarding the potential state changes to the tax-exempt status of non-profit hospitals. 

“Across Illinois, non-profit hospitals serve an important role in helping the state meet its health care obligations; altering their tax-exempt status risks putting that role in jeopardy,” said Hultgren. “Imposing new taxes on non-profit hospitals could impede those hospitals’ ability to provide money-losing services, such as trauma care, that are not only beneficial to our communities but vital to emergency preparedness.” 

“Non-profit hospitals provide an absolutely vital service to residents all across the State of Illinois and taxing them threatens the care of low-income, underserved and uninsured Illinoisans,” said Jackson. “I hope that the state will take the delegation’s bipartisan concerns into account and ensure that these citizens’ care is preserved.” 

“The Illinois Hospital Association and the hospital community greatly appreciate the Illinois Congressional Delegation’s overwhelming bi-partisan support of hospitals’ tax-exempt status, which is vital to ensure that hospitals can continue to provide accessible, high quality health care to all Illinoisans,” said Maryjane A. Worth, President and CEO of the Illinois Hospital Association. “We especially commend Congressmen Randy Hultgren and Jesse Jackson, Jr., for their efforts and leadership on this important issue. Our hospitals take the issue of tax exemption seriously as part of their strong partnership with government to help provide for the health and well being of the state’s residents.” 

The letter led by Hultgren and Jackson was signed by 16 additional members of the Illinois delegation. Members signing were Reps. Rush (IL-1), Lipinski (IL-3), Gutierrez (Il-4), Quigley (IL-5), Roskam (IL-6), Davis (IL-7), Walsh (IL-8), Dold (IL-10), Kinzinger (IL-11), Costello (IL-12), Biggert (IL-13), Johnson (IL-15), Manzullo (IL-16), Schilling (IL-17), Schock (IL-18) and Shimkus (IL-19).

Source: jackson.house.gov