Historical Society Announces 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

Park Forest Historical SocietyPark Forest, IL–(ENEWSPF)– The Park Forest Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will be held at 3 p.m. in Freedom Hall, 410 Lakewood Blvd in Park Forest on Sunday April 19, 2009. The ceremony is open to the public and admission is free, though donations are always welcome.

The induction takes place in the Nathan Manilow Theater, followed by refreshments in the main lobby. Nominations for the Hall of Fame are accepted between October 1 and December 15 each year. Nominees are selected for consistent, beneficial service to the citizens of Park Forest over a long span of time.

The official nomination form must be used and nominations must include requested information to be accepted. A committee of the Park Forest Historical Society makes the final selection. The names of the members of the Hall of Fame are available on the historical society website at www.parkforesthistory.org, and also on two plaques which hang in the Ringering Room of the Park Forest Public Library.

Biographical information on the members previously inducted is available in the Adult Services area of the library, in the Hall of Fame albums and in the Park Forest files, under “Park Forest Hall of Fame.”  One plaque will be out of the library for the additional names to be added before April 19.  During the library’s renovation, it is expected that the plaques will be housed at the 1950s Park Forest House Museum.

More information on the future inductees’ accomplishments will be sent to the press in the near future.

Those to be inducted on April 19 are:

  • Gary Kopycinski
  • Myrtle C. Martin
  • Marty O’Neill
  • John R. Ray

The Park Forest Historical Society congratulates the nominees.