Gov. Rauner Announces Recipients of 2018 Order of Lincoln Award

Bear and Rydell
2018 Lincoln Laureates Emily Bear and David Rydell (Photo Courtesy IL Governor’s Office)

SPRINGFIELD—(ENEWSPF)—September 15, 2017

“This year’s Order of Lincoln recipients are an extraordinary group of individuals that truly embody President Lincoln’s relentless and passionate spirit for public service,” Gov. Rauner said. “They have positively changed their communities in numerous ways, and their contributions will impact Illinois and the world for generations to come. It is my honor to award them the Order of Lincoln.”

On Saturday, May 5, 2018, The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will hold its 54th annual Convocation at the historic Coronado Theatre in Rockford. There, members of the Academy will honor eight outstanding Illinoisans with the Order of Lincoln at a formal ceremony, concert and gala reception. These Laureates will join a cohort of 340 distinguished Illinois citizens so honored over the past 54 years.

This year’s Lincoln Laureates are Emily Bear, Dick Butkus, Stephen Shih Chen, The Reverend Michael J. Garanzini, S.J, Mellody Hobson, Edward L. McMillan, Dr. Louis Philipson and David Rydell.

Emily Bear, of Rockford, at only 16 years old, has achieved groundbreaking success as a pianist, composer and songwriter. A chart-topping recording artist, she enjoys arranging, orchestrating and performing in a diverse collection of styles, including jazz, classical, film music and pop. Having made her professional debut at the Ravinia Festival at 5 years old, she has since performed at many of the world’s most well-known venues, including Carnegie Hall, the White House, Lincoln Center, Montreux Jazz Festival and the Hollywood Bowl. Symphonies across the world have performed Emily’s original compositions, and she has helped raise millions for charities across the globe through performances and events.

Source: www.illinois.gov

Summer and Fall at Prairie State College

Final 2023 Mayoral Forum with Joe Woods

Final Village Trustee Forum – March 19, 2023