Candidate Order Decided In Ballot Lottery

Cook County, IL-(ENEWSPF)- Cook County Clerk David Orr and Director of Elections Jan Kralovec conducted a lottery today to determine the candidate ballot positions in the March 20, 2012 Presidential Primary Election.

Candidates competing for the same office who filed simultaneously Nov. 28 at 9 a.m., the onset of candidate filing, were included in the lottery. The lottery was comprised of 19 candidates in eight races.

At 10:30 a.m., Orr and Kralovec inserted slips of paper into pill bottles, which were tossed into a fish bowl.

The first lottery was for the Democratic contest for Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner. Orr pulled out the bottle containing Stella B. Black’s name, securing for her the top ballot position. The slated candidates — Debra Shore, Kari K. Steele and Patrick Daley Thompson — were picked second, followed by Patricia Young.

All other candidates who filed to run for office after 9 a.m. on Nov. 28 through Monday’s 5 p.m. deadline will appear on the ballot according to the order in which they filed.

The list of candidates who filed will be updated periodically to reflect who has withdrawn their candidacy and whose candidancy has been challenged. In the far-right status column, a "C" means the candidate has been challenged and a "W" means they have withdrawn.  Objections are due by Dec. 12 at 5 p.m.

The results of the lottery: 

Democratic Party

Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

Stella B. Black

Debra Shore (Slate)

Kari K. Steele (Slate)

Patrick Daley Thompson (Slate)

Patricia Young

Commissioner, Board of Review, 3rd District

Larry Rogers, Jr.

Robert Shaw

Chicago Ward Committeeman, 1st Ward

Jesse Ruben Juarez

Proco "Joe" Moreno

Chicago Ward Committeeman, 22nd Ward

Ricardo Munoz  

Neftalie Gonzalez

Chicago Ward Committeeman, 31st Ward

Joseph Berrios

Alonso Zaragoza

Chicago Ward Committeeman, 32nd Ward

Scott Waguespack

John Fritchey   

Republican Party

Commissioner, Board of Review, 1st District

Sean M. Morrison

Dan Patlak 

Chicago Ward Committeeman, 42nd Ward

Eloise Gerson 

Tom Smithburg