18-year-old Alyssa Hernandez Wins School Board Election


Alyssa Herndandez. (PHOTO SUPPLIED)

Results updated April 4-9-09 at 6:15 p.m.

Park Forest, IL–(ENEWSPF)– Alyssa Hernandez, a bi-racial female student at Rich East High School in Park Forest, was successful in her bid for the Rich Township District 227 School Board election. She ran in a race with four open seats and eight opponents. Finishing a strong third, Hernandez is an honor student and a varsity captain for soccer and cross country. She is also the student representative to the board.The board recognized her two years in a row as student of the month.

She is the President of her Student Council and the National Honor Society. She also works with the youth in her community through a summer program run by the Park Forest Police department. Alyssa will graduate in May and attend DePaul University in the fall to study public policy.

“I am proud I ran a clean campaign and hope to serve as a role model for young people who aspire to make positive changes in their community,” Hernandez said.

Hernandez maintains a blog at www.joinalyssa.blogspot.com.

With 66 of 66 precincts counted, other winners in the School District 227 election include Sonya L. Norwood, Betty J. Owens, and David E. Morgan. Park Forest resident Paul Jasinevicius was unsuccessful in his bid for election to the 227 School Board.  Jasinevicius also lost in his bids for Park Forest Trustee and Rich Township Highway Commissioner.

Current results from Cook County David Orr follow (4-8-09, 8:31 a.m.):

Precincts Counted: 66 of 66 (100.00%)
Candidates Votes %
Sonya L. Norwood (NP) 3,396 14.92%
Brace Clement (NP) 2,170 9.54%
Yvette Moten (NP) 2,319 10.19%
Paul R. Jasinevicius (NP) 2,260 9.93%
Maria E. Lehner (NP) 1,525 6.70%
David E. Morgan (NP) 2,557 11.24%
Alyssa Hernandez (NP) 3,052 13.41%
Betty J. Owens (NP) 3,137 13.79%
Doreen L. Wilkes (NP) 2,340 10.28%

Errata: This article originally showed Doreen L. Wilkes winning the fourth spot.  With 100% of the precincts counted, the unofficial results above show David Morgan claiming the fourth spot.  We apologize and regret the error.